Meditation – 7 Chakras – Root Chakra / Mooladhar Chakra

Chakra Meditation


Our body is itself a universe and its power generators are 7 chakras. Its origin is from India as per facts and proofs it has been mentioned in various Vedas.  Our all seven chakras are governed by our perfect coordination between Mind Body and Soul. Chakra in Hinduism called as wheel. Chakras came more into picture now as more and more people are turning towards spirituality and yoga. They were first mentioned in the Vedas, ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500 to 1000 BC.

1st chakra is Mooladhar Chakra / Root Chakra

is believed to be situated between perineum and the lower spine. As per experts Root Chakra is the foundation on which our physical and energetic body and every chakra is built upon. The meaning of Mooladhar is ‘Root Support’. ‘Mool’ Means ‘Root’ & ‘Adhara’ Means ‘Support’ when your root chakra is balanced, you have energy and self-confidence rather than arrogance or fear, and you feel calm, centered and focused ready for what life brings, Overall, enjoys stability & peace consistently in life.

Color: Color associated with Root chakra is Red 

How to recognize if the root chakra is blocked:

Physical:  Sleeping Disorder, Weak Immunity, lower back pain and foot pain, constipation, weight gain and loss, getting tired easily. Any problem related to lower back, knees, legs.

Spiritual: lack of Confidence, stability issues, self-reliance issues, depended on others for happiness, any work, lack of trust on others, self-worth issues, Issues Related to Birth Values / Birth Habits / Birth Goals, victim mentality issues, Depression & Lack of Motivation.

Emotional: Fearful Attitude, victim mentality issues, Depression & Lack of Motivation, Ungrounded behavior, living for just survival mode, Negative Approach towards everything, Attention seeking behavior, not comfortable in their own skin.

How to Heal Root Chakra:
Day to Day Activity:
  • Daily Walk
  • Running in Morning
  • Gardening, planting new trees connecting with your roots.
  • Make Yoga a part of your life.
  • Pilates is new activity which can keep us balanced
  • Wearing Red color clothes eating red fruits like Tomatoes, strawberries, raspberries, cherries, red apples, peppers, pomegranates and beets, root vegetables like carrots, potatoes, parsnips, radishes, beetroot, onions, garlic, and protein rich food like eggs, meats, beans, tofu, soy products, peanut butter. The spices that suit it are chives, paprika and pepper.

Self-Massage with the help of warm oil like sesame oil, Almond Oil, Coconut oil starting from tip of head to toe is very helpful is reducing stress. doing it once a week by yourself keep your all chakras balanced. Therapist also do these Abhyanga Massage.

Yoga Asana:
  • Malasana / Garland Pose – This pose keeps you close to earth it helps us to grasp energy from the ground our root. it also strengthens hip, legs, lower back apart from several other benefits for women like PCOS, improves metabolism, digestion.
  • Utkatasana/Chair pose – This pose strengthens your thighs, while stabilizing your knees. Improves concentration and patience levels, strengthens the ankles, thighs, calves, and spine. The root chakra is where we ground ourselves into the earth!
  • Uttanasana/Standing forward fold- This pose stretches calves, hamstrings, hip joint, activates liver and kidneys functioning, reduces menstrual pain, this pose helps in strength, flexibility and focus. It engages your core, spine and thighs. It’s a full body posture.
  • Vrksasana/Tree Pose – Through the practice of balance, you develop poise, concentration, and coordination-as well as steady and calm your mind. The goal of this pose is to take root like a tree with your foot anchored on the floor while reaching up to the sky. It Strengthens the ligaments.
  • Squats – Squats 10-20 per day strengthens knees gives balance to complete body mind and soul. also helps in losing weight, it increases core strength.
Sound Healing:

Each chakra has its own unique sound, Root chakra’s sound is the seed sound ‘lam’ which when chanted several times can have a profound effect of activating and awakening this energy center. Chanting ’Lam’ while meditating and focusing on mooladhar chakra with red color gives a profound effect on your complete nervous system.

Crystal Healing:

There are many crystals which heals root chakra some of them are red jasper, lava or basalt, and Smoky Quartz, Ruby wearing them as a pendant or ring also as a bracelet helps in healing Root Chakra.

Pranayama/Breathing Exercise:

Although mostly pranayama or breathing exercise are helpful in overall chakra balancing yet the most famous one is Anulom Vilom.

Nadishodhan is also helpful in healing the root chakra. Which heals entire body.

Note:  Working on your root chakra by above mentioned things can really help in healing it but in difficult health situations it is always advised to consult a professional allopathic / Ayurvedic/Homeopathic Doctor.

“If your muladhara is stable, life or death, you will be stable because your foundation is good and we can fix the other things later” – Sadhguru

17 thoughts on “Meditation – 7 Chakras – Root Chakra / Mooladhar Chakra”

  1. Prajeet Bharadwaj

    We should read this inspiring article very useful for body mind and soul very beautyfull thanks for this article. (Ms RICHA DIXIT)

  2. Rajnissh Siinha

    What we have to learn is that the external shivalingam is responsible for awakening the inner shivalingam. This shivalingam is also located in twelve locations within this physical body, according to tantra, kundalini science. As well as being the same shape, it is also similarly shaped. There are twelve places in this list, but three are considered very important. Mooladhara chakra is the first.
    I must say that the author has an excellent understanding of chakras. I look forward to reading about other chakras as well.

  3. Such a helpful article,it explains very nicely so we can be able to understand how to do it properly. Thanks Richa ☺️

  4. Pingback: Sacral Chakra / Swadhisthana Chakra Meditation: - The Destined Path to Wisdom

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *